Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent times,there is an increasing number of children play video games excessively and rarely do physical activities. The essay discusses possible reasons for this and I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the merits.

In the first place, if that continues for so long, children will become a game-addict and rely much on computer. They can spend a dozen of hours on computer without cease. Furthermore, their intellectual and physical could also be affected. They will much less concentrate on their study and of course, the study result will be worse. Computer games can also make them physically ill and more sluggish. Their problem-solving ability will be slower. According a survey conducted by Stanford university, teenagers who play less video games are sharper and more active than others who don't. Being Glued to the computer screen continuously causes many visual illness. For example, children will be short-sighted at an early age.

Nevertheless, it also has some advantages, for instance, video games make it easier for teenagers to unwind and reduce stress after a strained day at school. Not only do they feel relaxed but they also become more connected with others, thus practicing their teamwork skills which is an essential for their career in the future. Because many games often involve playing with other people, so if you want to win, having the teamwork skills is indispensable.

In conclusion, playing computer games can be advantageous in some ways, however, children must know when to stop and draw the line between study and games in order not to affect their test results.