Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, there has been a growing trend of wasting a large amount of time for video games in children due to the rapid evolution of technology. Although this tendency obvious will cause some adverse impacts on children and society as a whole, identifying the reasons behind this trend is key to solve this pressing issue.

There are two main reasons can be explained why computer games have been gaining more popularity in young generations. First, since the creative industry, such as designing, has rapidly evolved over, these sorts of game become more appealing to children due to eye-catching visual effects. For example, a game with attracting colours and is well-designed is clearly more interesting for children who have ever had no awareness about it. Second, thanks to the development of technology, especially some state-of-the-art devices make playing games become more comfortable than ever before. In fact, Apple, a giant corporation has introduced its cutting-edges devices such as Ipod, these light and portable devices considerably contribute to encouraging children to engage in video games.

Despite video games are means of entertainment, these games, however, will cause some negative effects for our children and the whole society. In fact, many children have spent the most of their time sticking on the screens for playing video games, which results in some mental disorders. Wasting too much time on games has been scientifically proven that it can lead to depression in children in the long run. Additionally, the more time children spend on games, the less time they spend on studying. This means that these young generations will grow up and are poorly educated due to lack of time for school, and even this can lead to the rise in the crime rate as education is tightly tied to the number of criminals.

In conclusion, despite video games are a great way for children to entertain, however, we as citizens should find out the reasons behind the mentioned trend and take steps to solve this urgent problem.