Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

The advancement of technology has created a major shift in many children’s lifestyles these days. more and more children video games by smart devices, and do less exercise. this essay will outline the reasons behind this situation and I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the merits.

The main cause of this trend stem from the influence of the media, and the common of mobile phones. Firstly, there are a plethora of games from various platforms, which suit different people all of the ages. consequently, children can easily be drawn their attention to these games, and waste their time with such activities. Secondly, parents today are more and more swamped with tons of work, so they tend to allow their kids to access computers at an early age. as a result, children are addicted to interesting gameplay and beautiful graphics of video games. they are willing to splurge plenty of time exploring the world of games and neglecting their studies. besides, playing games without perception will have a negative impact on their health, such as bad eyesight and more seriously making them suffer from depression. this can affect the growth of children.

In contrast, the more they spend hours on playing games, the less they engage in social activities. Due to the fact, doing exercise apparently takes a lot of time and demands patience from the praticers, so children are not keen on enjoying exercise lessons. This is the case of children who despite playing outside, always stick to games on their phones. In other words, more sport and exercise facilities are just springing up in urban areas, making it harder for others to stay physically active. Some remote areas still experience a severe lack of facilities and equipment for people to participate in sport and exercise. That is why the cases of the youth suffering from obesity and cardiovascular on the rise. This is often the case of children who despite playing outside, just stick to the phone’s screen without joining in the daily conversation.

In conclusion, despite video games are a great way for children to entertain themselves, however, we as citizens should find out the reasons behind the mentioned trend and take steps to solve this urgent problem.