Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that in contemporary society, the trend of using mobile phones and computers results in less face to face communication with other people. In my opinion, I completely with this view.

In the one hand, there are several reasons why there is a growing preference for mobile phones and computers. First, these technical devices can lead to a convenient life. For example, online shopping helps people who are physically disabled or even for people who are simply very busy to buy anything by staying at home with a click of the mouse button. Second, by using high-tech devices, long distance is not an obstacle to keep in touch with other people. For instance, video conferencing enables people living in different countries to exchange ideas without traveling across the world.

In the other hand, there are several reasons why using mobile phones and computers can decrease face to face communication skill. Becoming over-reliant on technical devices can contribute to a sedentary lifestyle which discourages real interaction. People can keep their eyes glued to screens several hours to send messages through the Internet instead of having real conversations with their friends. In addition, because of hi-tech devices’ convenience, many people choose working at their home instead of offices, which can isolate people. Thus, they may lose opportunities to communicate and build strong relationships with their peers in real life.

In conclusion, I believe that the tendency of using mobile phones and computers can influence badly individuals’ capacity of communicating directly in social life.