The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that stricter punishments will deter motorist from driving seriously or carelessly on the road. However, I strongly disagree that this is the best way to improve safety road, because there are alternative measures which would also be effective.

Stricter punishments will undoubtedly act as a deterrent, so that drivers will think twice before committing traffic offense. If the government implements a policy of zero tolerance, offenders will be fearful of paying for their crime. For example, heavy fines and the confiscation of driving licences are tough on crime, which force them to pay a great deal of money and have no right to using car. In addition, the full weight of the law must be imposed, banning wrongdoers from the roads so that they will no longer post a danger to other road-users. Those who driving while intoxicated should serve a prison sentence because sometimes they can endanger innocent lives.

While the efficiency of applying heavy punishments cannot be denied, there are other steps should be taken to improve road safety. Firstly, accident can be reduced by providing funding for transport infrastructure. For instance, broadening road which creates more lanes for drivers can help to avoid cars colliding. Secondly, the government should encourage citizens to take public transport which results in ease traffic flow to avoid accidents. For example, free bus and train passes can highly motivate people to use public transport.

In conclusion, it is true that stricter punishments on traffic offenses may contribute to the road safety. I believe that it is not the best solution to the problem.