Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a school of thought that believes that the only way to end hunger and poverty is economic growth while reasons can be given to justify this, I would agree that economic growth put the environment in danger.

On the one hand, there are those who assert that economic development is the only to cure hunger and poverty. In term of social benefit, developing economic result in a increase in the level of the government budget. Thus national and local authorities can prioritize expenditure on a welfare state, which provide food and money for citizens especially the homeless. In addition, apart from maximizing profits, the growth of economic acts as a catalyst for expanding companies production and creating new job opportunities. This allows citizens to meet basic human needs and eradicates poverty.

On the other hand, I side with those who contend that the environment is being damaged by growing economic. Firstly, production processes must be held accountable for serious environmental degradation, such as global warming stemming from factory emissions or the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste. For example, instead of installing waste treatment systems, factories tend to discharge chemical waste into rivers, which leads to water pollution. Secondly, development of economic may trigger depleting natural resources. For instance, lowland rainforests have been cleared and unsustainable agricultural practices introduced to produce cash crops, often for export.

In conclusion, although it is true that growing economic is the only measure to cure hunger and poverty, I firmly believe that it would be necessary to stop this progressive turn, If it contributes to environment destruction.