Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

It is true that in this modern era, the obesity rate, especially among developed countries, is increasingly higher than in the past. The roots of this tendency might be the sedentary lifestyle of people combined with the development of the fast-food market, and many aspects of people lives are being affected by this phenomenon.

To begin with, a significant number of people are overweight for 2 main reasons. The first one is their physical inactivity. It appears as cutting-edge technology these days could almost replace human in several activities, such as doing house chores, watering the garden, or even cooking dishes. Another reason could be the fast-food consumption. Consuming fast-food are often more convenient than organic green products, therefore, those people could find it difficult to maintain a healthy diet in today’s hectic pace of life. McDonald, for example, could be found in the vicinity of almost every workplace, which provides hungry employees instance meals with cheap prices.

This tendency has an adverse bearing on the daily life of people, from their health to their work life. In terms of health, it could create risks of diseases, particularly heart problems that could lead to death. Higher risks of heart diseases could result in higher morality rate, which directly affect the working force resources. Furthermore, this phenomenon could prevent people from applying for jobs that require a good physic. Models and actresses need to be in shape and have slim bodies to look more attractive while performing or acting, for instance.

In conclusion, lack of activities and impulsive consumption of fast-food could lead to obesity, which directly cause severe health problems and mitigate the job opportunities of many individuals.