Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

It is true that the obesity rate around the world has increased exceptionally in recent years. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several detrimental effects that may endanger the lives of many people.

In my opinion, the foremost cause of obesity is due to the inactive lifestyles and unhealthy eating habits. Today more and more people are relying on vehicles to move around and enjoying inactive leisures activities, a pertinent example of this is watching television or surfing the internet. These actions lower the burned calories in a day and get people out of shape. Furthermore, the preferences for fast food and processed food has grown considerably due to their conveniences and affordable prices. In addition, many commercials and marketing strategies including discounts, coupons or buy 2, gift 1 have also contributed to the favoring of the young generation. Consequently, the characteristics of being high in calories and easy to absorb of the named type of food has become one of the major roots of the constantly growing number of overweight individuals.

The epidemic has undoubtedly created detrimental effects on the life of citizens around the world. Overweight is the main cause of many fatal diseases, for instance high blood pressure or heart attacks which in fact has taken many lives of people in the modern days. Another effect of this phenomenon is that obesity may cause low productivity during work. As fat people are considered low in mobility and stamina, they may find it hard to work in a speed and stressful modern day workings, therefore, disrupting the flow of the workplace. In addition, there is anecdotal evidence that many workplaces will choose a person not only based on their diploma or experience but also how they can maintain a healthy daily life, which are not for overweight or obese people.

In conclusion, The epidemic of overweight, which happens due to the laziness and unhealthy diet of individuals, has caused a negative effect on one person’s health and productivity at work.