Today, more people are traveling than ever before. Why is this the case?
What are the benefits of traveling for the traveler?
It is true that in many countries the number of people traveling has increased
over recent years. There are reasons which can be identified to account for
this trend and travelers undoubtedly benefit from the chance to travel more
frequently and to visit even the most far-flung destinations.
At least two important factors help to explain why an increasing number of
people are now able to enjoy domestic and international travel. Firstly,
growing prosperity and a rise in living standards in many countries have
enabled people to enjoy things which they could never have before. With
greater disposable income, family luxuries such as holidays have now
become affordable. Secondly, competition among tour operators has reduced
the cost of traveling. Only a few decades ago, for example, budget airlines
did not exist, but now they are used by millions of passengers each year.
In my view, in the case of both domestic and international travel, there are
clear advantages for travelers. People now have a wide choice of places to go
and things to see and do. They are now able to experience other parts of their
own countries or to enjoy the richness of unfamiliar and, sometimes, exotic
destinations. Thailand, for instance, is immensely popular with tourists from
all over the world, including Vietnam. Visitors enjoy not only the unique
cuisine but also the rich historical heritage of Thai temples and traditions.
Another advantage for many people, now that travel is less costly, is the
chance to be reunited with family members who have moved abroad because
of work, study or simply in search of a better life. Family ties can be
maintained and strengthened thanks to the greater opportunities to travel.
In conclusion, there are clear reasons why more people are traveling and
there are obvious advantages for travelers.