Today, people are getting greedy and selfish. Some people argue that we should go back to old days, and show respect for the family and community, so that we can make the world a better place to live.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The tendency towards being self-centered and covetous has become so obvious to a point that many believe the old values of family and community should be revived. I think this idea is particularly valid in today’s world, as the two aforementioned vices can deteriorate interpersonal relationships dramatically.

the rise of egotism has profound consequences on the unity of a family. In the past, whenever an individual was confronted with an issue, the first ones they would seek counsel from were undoubtedly their siblings or parents. And this indicates a fact that not only famlies can provide a person with tangible benefits, such as financial aid, but also moral support from which one is able to regain confidence, self-esteem and obtain emotional strengthen. Therefore, were one to forego the benefit of being an integral part his family and primarily focus self-interest, the family solidarity would be detrimentally affected. And gradually, family members will probably treat each other as a stranger.

Furthermore, it is readily apparent that avarice is a disruptive influence to the well-being of a community. this is simply due to the fact that greed, if not curbed properly, can become immoderate that it can induce people to engage in unlawful activites for their gain. For example, a greedy local merchant will feel no qualm of plying his low-quality wares or cajoling gullible consumers into buying what they do not actually need. More significantly, once greediness become prevalent in a community, individuals will likely become indifferent to others’ interests and feelings, which means relationships will certainly become superficial and transient, and mainly function on an ad hoc basis. It is safe to say that the barring of help and social solidarity will be inevitable if nothing can be done to decrease the overwhelming selfishness.

In conclusion, greediness and egotism are playing a strong role in the elimination of bond between people not only in a community but also a family. Hence, it is imperative to reconstruct the ethos of sharing and caring which was widely available in past society.