Today’s food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Thanks to the internet and social networks, people can easily travel to any countries and explore that place by watching videos and photos. So that, more and more people are attracted by foreign culture, language and especially food that they have not experienced before. This is the reason why food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers in other countries. In my point of view, this trend is both positive and negative.

To discuss the negative face of this trend, we can realize that teenagers and even adults tend to feel interested in foreign food instead of local food. It is the fact that people can pay half of their salary per month to enjoy traditional food of other countries while they can choose to eat local food with lower price and save a huge of money. However, food are storage in a long period may lose a variety of nutritional value and do not keep resemble taste like the fresh one. This trend also has serious effect on country's economy because of decreasing the use of local food products. It makes farmers lose their job because the products do not be consumed and become inventory. Moreover, food companies will have to face with bankrupt if they can not sell products and do not have money to pay for workers.

On the other face of this trend, it also bring positive effects not only to people but also to the Government and country. In modern society, people have more conditions to travel abroad than in the past, but not for all. It will be more convenient for someone, who want to explore different cultures but do not have opportunity and financial ability, when they can travel by foreign food in their own country. Partly because of the specific climate conditions of each country, they can not produce some kinds of food to serve people's needs. So that the demand for importing food from other countries has appeared and food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. In addition, big countries want to provide food for developing countries to help to eradicate hunger, reduct poverty and decrease economic burden.

In conclusion, every problems always have two faces and does this trend. it is inconclusive whether we say that this trend is positive or negative because it not only affects badly but also brings lots of benefits. The matter is the Government should find solution to balance the use between local food and foreign food, also control the percentage of importing food.