In today's job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, it has been argued by many people that having practical skills are more crucial for a job applicant than theoretical knowledge. They believe that in the next few years there may not be a need for job applicants to have any academic certificates. Personally, I totally disagree with this point of view, and in this essay I will discuss the reasons.

First of all, theoretical knowledge is extremely important for people who are planning to enter the workplace. It is considered as the basis upon which they can build extra knowledge, and thus gain experience to excel in their field whatever their profession is. Without such knowledge, they may not be able to learn any practical skills. Take the engineering profession as an example. It is almost impossible for an engineer to learn practical skills necessary for the workplace only by practicing and without any intense studying at college.

Secondly, the academic certificates are the best way according which employers can choose their employees. If the candidates were not asked for formal qualifications, firms, for instance, would not be able to select the most appropriate workers among others. Academic qualifications always give accurate information about what a person has learned and what his specialty is, and that is how companies become able to select future employees according to their needs.

To conclude, although many people think that formal qualifications may not be a prerequisite in the future job applications, I disagree with this view point as I believe that the robust knowledge is the key for a person to excel in his career and for employees to select a new staff.