The best way to resolve the international environment problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that raising fuel prices would be a useful measure to deal with environmental issues. Personally, I disagree that it would represent the best way to tackle global environmental problems.

On the one hand, governments should raise the taxes on the cost of fuel. By this way, national authority would almost certainly ensure people used their cars less. Fewer car journeys would lead to be reduction in exhaust emissions. This would bring more international consequences, such as slowing the process of global warming because of greenhouse gases released into the atmosphere was reduces. Moreover, the natural energy sources will not last forever, and by increasing petrol prices there would be less dependence on fossil fuels. Therefore, I believe that international bodies should put pressure on countries to raise fuel prices.

However, I believe that there are more measures to tackle international environment issues. Firstly, the national authorities could restrict using of private vehicles and encourage residents travel to work by public transports. For example, government provides more free metro for citizens to go to work, as a result, fewer and fewer people are driving their cars, and the emissions will reduce. Secondly, one of effective methods is the government should invest in research into alternative energy sources like solar, wind or nuclear energy. For instance, Singapore state government has asked factories in the city use solar energy to heat water instead of using oil. This helped to Singapore reduce the amount of toxic emissions to the environment and become one of cities has cleanest air in the world.

In conclusion, although raising the cost of fuel is a good solution, national authorities could use other effective measures to deal with global environmental problems.