Today, there are more images of disasters and violence in the media. What are the cause and what are your solutions?

It seems to be an increasingly widespread concern that the media is filled with images of disasters and violence, and I think that advanced communication technologies, and essence of media companies are, in large part, responsible for this.

In the past, people received news updates only by listening to the radio and reading newspaper. This is no longer the case. Due to advanced communication technologies, individuals nowadays are surrounded by all kinds of media at all times. They are being kept informed about what is happening worldwide almost simultaneously by thousands of websites, live TV news, radio programs, and even mobile phone text messages. As a result, bad news now has hi-tech wings and is being heard more often than ever before.

Another important reason leading to this phenomenon is that the ultimate goal of media companies is to seek maximum profits. Since bad news is exaggerated for the sake of shock value, media companies of course make up much of it to boost sales, and attract more advertisement. So we see 24-hours, non-stop news report of airplane crashes, earthquakes, tsunamis, and violence.

In order to solve this problem, in other words, to encourage the media to provide more balanced coverage to the public, government intervention and guidance can make a difference. More importantly, media networks should not only function as a business, but take a larger social responsibility. Besides, the citizens should learn to live optimistically and actively. After all, it is we, the viewers who decide what we like to watch, read, and pay attention to.