Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Experts have different points on the better time that children learning foreign language at elementary school or middle school. I strongly believe that learning foreign language earlier have more advantages than later.

There are several reasons why study language at primary school is better for the children. Firstly, children begin to study at primary school which these process they can get in touch with many subjects that it is a good time to cultivate their interests in different subjects which include foreign language. Secondly, fro the perspective of psychology, people begin to learn an language the best time which is in their young because children’s learning ability is very fast and remember quickly, if we teach them a language they quickly grasp and this ability can also continue to other languages and subjects. Finally, the study task in the primary school are not difficult and heavy which leave much time for children focus on learning language that will have a good effect.

Certainly, there are some disadvantages when children learn foreign at secondary school. On the one hand, children at elementary school need to prepare different exams which they don’t have too much time to study other languages. For example, in China, children need to prepare 9 subjects to take part in senior high school entrance examination. On the other hand, children in primary school will experience the rebellious phase which they may not want to learn some useful things or they can not focus on the language. In this period, teachers and parents are worried about the children behaviors instead of studying language. Also, children at elementary school have their interesting places or hobbies which they can not easy to learn other things.

In conclusion, my view is that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language when they are in primary school that the merits are exceed the demerits