Too much attention is paid to and too much money is spent on keeping pets, while people throughout the world are starving. Discuss the arguments for and against keeping pets. To what extent do you agree?

Pet has existed in human life for centuries. Nowadays, more and more people indulge in getting a companion animal. However, as keeping pet is believed to be a expensive hobby, some people argue that we should not pay too much money on owning a pet. Considering the two aspects, I conclude that both arguments carry the same amount of gravity.

As we all know, many benefits of pet ownership has been proven. Firstly, pets help improve mental health. Imagine having a purring cat in your lap, adog excited when you come home, suddenly you do not feel alone. Or playing with your puppy after a exhausted day work can reduce the feeling of depression and improve you mood immediately. According to some researchers, people recovering from surgery who engage in pet therapy typically require less pain medication than those who do not interact with therapy animals. Indeed, animals are often brought into hospitals to help patients recover quickly. Furthermore, pets keep you active and encourage learning. When keeping a pet, younger can not be lazy anymore because there are so many exciting things to do: take their pets for a walk, feeding them, etc. And for elderly, having a pet in their retirement years is a wonderful form of mental stimulation. What is more, your lovely dog can also be a loyal guardian. Dogs are extremely protective when a stranger comes to the door. In addition, a barking dog may put off many potential burglars and intruders.

Since every problems has two sides, we can still see some drawbacks of having pets. The first thing to mention is pets are big responsibility. Engaging to keeping pets means you have to pay attention on them. Not only is concentration required but we also need to spend much money for the needs of pets. For some people, this is the biggest deterrent to afford this hobby. Despite the fact that pets help people improve some health issues, they can bring about other problems: allergies. Especially if you have no idea what you are allergic to, bringing a cat or a dog into your life can bring unexpected hurdles. Moreover, for those who have problems with respiratory system, pet hair is not good at all.

In conclusion, although owning a pet has a few negative effects, I still believe it is a valuable experience that we should enjoy.