Too much money is wasted on repairing old buildings that should be used to knock them down and build new ones.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days many old buildings are renovated instead of being demolished to establish new ones. This is sometimes being argued as useless or a waste of time and money, however, I am on the opinion that these historical structures should be preserved for it serves a lot of purposes.

Undoubtedly, any structure recedes over time and sometimes it is better to establish new ones for safety purposes. However, nowadays with advance engineering and extensive architectural designs, these old buildings could be refurbished to ensure safety and quality. The reason why these old buildings need to be preserved is that it carries a historical view of a particular place and time. For instance, the first church established in Asia explains and reminds parishioners of how their religion was established hundreds of years ago. If this church would be demolished or left unrepaired the future generation could not experience the beauty and historical account of the beginning of their faith in the church.

Moreover, historical buildings are one of the most popular places where tourists visit. This is due to the fact that people are by nature curious and want to take a glimpse of what was life like in the past. If these historical buildings are repaired it could be a source of income for the people living within the vicinity because tourism is an income-generating industry.

Certainly, there are still people who think that it is a waste of money to repair this. They believe in building modern facilities that could withstand natural calamities. However, there have been new architectural and engineering strategies to make old buildings equally built to withstand extreme forces. For instance, in Europe, castles are being remodeled by an architectural firm that advocates the preservation of old infrastructures. These architects are using advance technology to rebuild the structure and at the same time preserving the design of old castles.

Overall, it is best to renovate old structures because it preserves history which promotes tourism and despite what others claim that this action is a waste of resources, it can be proved that old buildings could still be useful and safe as long as it will be rebuilt with quality infrastructure standards.