Today single-use products are still very common. What are the problems associated with this? What are some possible solutions?

Nowadays, it is still apparent that single-use items are popular in the global market. Using these type of products are sometimes costly and most of the time have negative effects in the environment such as waste production. However, there are actions that could possibly mitigate the negative effects, which will be furthered discussed in this essay.

To begin with, the consumption of one-time use products brings more costs and it has a negative effect on the environment. In other words, multi-use items are cost-effective while single-use item after purchase ends up on streets and subsequently pollute major water sources, rivers, and streams. Even when disposed of properly, they take many years to decompose thus generating vast amounts of garbage over long periods of time. For instance, disposable bottled water or other beverages after consumption adds to the world’s plastic pollution problem. This scenario is common in metropolitan areas because of the number of people and the increased marketing tricks of bottled products. Moreover, the cost spent on these single-use commodities is greater over time than the cost purchased for more sustainable or reusable things. For example, some buyers are not aware that spending money on buying plastic bottled water when in fact they could save by drinking in refillable containers.

Undoubtedly, this issue regarding cost and wastage of single-use items could be solved or mitigated. First, companies, manufacturers, and the government could implement a program or laws where products could be reused or recycled. One example is when the country Peru released a decree that single-use plastics should be replaced with reusable, biodegradable plastic or others whose degradation does not generate contamination to the ecological system. Second is recycling these single-use items to another useful product. Recycling is encouraged in items such as water bottles so that they will not be left to decompose in a long period of time and accumulate in our surroundings. Plastic bottles could be used as plant pots or they are sometimes collected by manufacturing companies in the production of other materials. Consequently, people will get used to adhering to these environmentally friendly activities with constant promotion and encouragement from authorities.

All in all, it will be difficult to totally eradicate the use of single-use products but there are ways to lessen the waste pollution and with public awareness, people will be encouraged to reuse and recycle.