Some people prefer to work in the same type of job throughout their lifetime while others like to change the type of job they do. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Employment duration has been a concern of the labor force, nowadays. There are people who like to work in the same field for the rest of their career life, while others think that changing careers look more appealing. Truly, permanent employment in a certain company or institution offers many benefits but changing careers also has its own positive effects on career growth. This essay will look into the detail of the two viewpoints before an opinion will be given.

To begin with, one benefit of permanent employment offers is financial stability. In the case of being a regular employee of a company, there are more benefits an employer offers. This includes retirement plans, health insurance, and regular bonuses. If a worker prefers security in the long run, staying in a firm is the best choice, especially for individuals who are breadwinner in the family. Without financial stability within the family, basic needs won’t be met and problems would occur.

Another advantage of working in the same field is the potential of being an expert in one’s job. It is backed up by empirical evidence and research studies that constant exposure and practice of skill make an individual exemplary in one’s area. For example, in the field of medicine, physicians who become experts in pediatrics has to obtain a number of years permanently working with sick children in order to handle cases efficiently, after which the become consultants. Thus, only with continuous practice of one’s career can make a person have a specialized skill, which is necessary for every field. In turn, they could train novice workers and contribute greatly to their field.

However, changing careers has its own positive effect on an individual. With exploration in many areas of practice, a person can find his/her likes and dislikes in a job. This is particularly beneficial to fresh graduates who are still unsure of what they would want in their career life. This is also a great opportunity to weigh career decisions in order to settle in a career they are sure to pursue. Although, at some point, jumping from one job to another cost time and unstable income.

There are maybe disadvantages as well with staying in the same job, such as feelings of being stuck, however, this could be remedied with modifying perspective on the job. Still, I believe that working in the same field have greater benefits for career growth and overall security.