Topic 06/04/19: People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons for this, and how can people learn more about the natural world?

It is undeniable that people have less knowledge and sympathy towards the environment, which has led to severe pollution and the extinction of several species. The causes for this phenomenon can be identified and there are actions worth taking to increase individuals’ understanding of nature.

Human beings have become ignorant about the natural world because of their own selfish nature and short-term vision. They are only capable of looking after themselves and those in their social circles. Besides, humans consider wealth one of the most important aspects of their daily lives, because without monetary values, their basic needs cannot be met. For example, many developed countries opted for economic progress instead of environment conservation since the former creates foods and housing. Thus, the world thrives socially and economically at the expense of nature being neglected and destroyed.

Nevertheless, solutions to tackle this problem exist. Firstly, it is easier to start from the educational roots. This means schools should try to raise awareness of children about protecting the environment through biology and geography lessons. Additionally, students’ can gain hands-on experience by partaking in field trips and nature-related projects. Second of all, it is recommended that strict laws about nature preservation be imposed and whoever violates by poaching and polluting must be severely punished. Moreover, more national budgets could be spent on parks and reserves for endangered flora and fauna. Finally, companies, who hold great financial power, need to pioneer in clean manufacturing process and environmentally-friendly goods to be a model for their consumers. In these ways, human kind stands better chance of re-learning about their surrounding and protecting it.

To sum up, though the environment has suffered due to human actions, it is still possible for people to make changes to compensate for nature’s sacrifice. This requires the cooperation of individuals, government and businesses.