Topic 18/5/19: Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is undeniably ubiquitous in people’s daily lives so some argue that it has a positive influence on the society. However, I would strongly oppose to this idea and believe that its drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

It is true that adverts bring about some advantageous aspects for the viewers. When buyers come across information about new products available in the market, they can certainly be more informed, which helps them compare the prices to make the most economical purchases. For instance, on Facebook, there are sponsored contents for many clothes shops, showing their new arrivals and consumers could easily check them out. Additionally, retailers are likely to benefit from advertisements in the way that they are able to introduce the variety of goods and deals attached. As a result, there are higher chances that stores will be packed with buyers and eventually make more profits.

However, most of the time, adverts are just unwanted information for viewers. TV shows and videos on social media are disrupted by frequent product placements and adverts. These advertisements are always irrelevant to the shows’ content and discouraging for watchers who wish to finish their videos in piece. Besides, advertising helps promote consumerism due to unwise shopping decisions. Take shopping online as an example, buyers now have access to thousands shopping platforms and just by clicks on their computers, they can order commodities to be delivered to their doors. Nevertheless, this leads to the tendency to make regrettable purchases in an impulsive manner and consumers could end up buying redundant products.

To sum up, even though adverts can provide buyers with helpful information about new goods and promotions, they are disturbing and causing consumers to buy unnecessary things. Therefore, I would say that the disadvantages have more serious consequences compared to the benefits.