Topic: Even though globalization affects the world economies, its downside must not be neglected. Discuss

In the era of globalization, global integration has been accelerated than ever before in every aspect of life. Despite doing many wonders for humans, there are potential drawbacks that should be taken into consideration. This essay will shed light on both views before making a final decision.

One major ground behind creating a global village is that this trend plays an important role in fostering the economy of each nation as well as creating an opportunity for emerging economies to enter global markets. In fact, due to being influenced by the wave of globalization, almost all nations around the world have implemented open policies to stimulate trade and attract foreign direct investment. This policy is likely to appeal to a huge amount of capital so that the country might leverage it to upgrade infrastructure and enhance social security. To give an example, in the past, Vietnam was one of the low-developing countries with a GDP per capita below the average line on the world scale and could not keep up with the latest technological developments. However, thanks to globalization, more and more multinational corporations have invested a tremendous amount of budget in the Vietnam market, such as Samsung, Nestlé, Intel, and so on, thereby improving competitiveness in global markets. Therefore, today, Vietnam is recognized as an emerging country with a significant growth rate annually.

In spite of facilitating many advantages, globalization also leads to several disadvantages that require taking action to tackle as soon as possible. One primary flaw of this is the interdependence of countries on one another. If countries are not capable of capital autonomy and have to outsource their input production materials, these countries will be likely to disrupt the supply chain and easily be adversely affected by global fluctuations. Vietnam, is an instance, despite appealing to numerous FDI capital by foreign companies accounted for merely 60 percent of total capital, Vietnam’s economy has experienced a harsh crisis in manufacturing cars because China has not exported any semiconductor elements as implementing Zero COVID-19 policy. Additionally, this phenomenon has placed sovereignty under threat meaning that no nation can hide its discoveries or innovation from the world anymore. Consequently, intellectual property is put under threat of being stolen for illegal commercial purposes.

In conclusion, although globalization is beneficial for the world’s economy and living standards, this phenomenon also brings potential consequences regarding countries do not utilize it wisely. Nevertheless, I believe that if these downsides can be addressed and mitigated suitably, globalization will facilitate more benefits for global citizens.