Topic: Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the use of renewable energy in many developed nations is seriously taken into consideration since the enormous contribution of these alternative sources of energy to our planet. Personally, this is a positive tendency. In this essay, information and evidence are given to clarify my point views.

Firstly, renewable energy comes from sources that hardly can be depleted. Apparently, energy from renewable sources can be resupplied based on the natural physic cycles. In detail, solar power and wind power are the two common types of green energy, beside that hydro power, bio-mass and geothermal power are additional forms that produce power for our planet instantly. Because of creating by nature, all of these powers are virtually limitless while in theory, fossil fuels are finite based on how they are originated. For example, if we could harvest the sunlight comes down to our earth daily by solar panels or other scientific equipment, we would generate enough power for everything in an entire year without worrying about the exhaustion.

Secondly, using natural sources is safe for the environment as no emissions or waste are discharged. Fossil fuels release carbon dioxide when they burn, which causes severe pollution, such as adds the greenhouse effect or increases the global warming. Moreover, fossil fuels also contribute to sulfur emission to the atmosphere leading to acid rains which can cause damage to buildings. In contrast, renewable energy offers a nearly zero emissions of carbon dioxide or any types of pollution. The use of renewable energy dramatically reduce the dependence on fossil fuels as a source of energy. Consequently, the air pollution is immense cutting off. As our demand for energy keeps growing, the discovery of the Eco-friendly sources has a likelihood of becoming inevitable trend.

To conclude, although the alternative energy can be costly than using fossil fuels; however, the long-term advantages that renewable sources can devote to our environment in general, and to each individual in particular are unquestionable.