Topic: More and more people choose to work at home and students study from home as the development of computer technology makes it more convenient and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is a rise in the number of people and students who prefer working and studying at their houses as a result of the convenience and affordable price currently provided by modern technology devices. While there are many drawbacks existing, I am strongly of the opinion that this trend could be beneficial in various ways.

On the one hand, people and students who choose to stay at home for working and studying because of the convenience and reasonable price provided by computer technology could be negatively affected. The primary reason is that their communication skill would be adversely influenced. As some workers and students spend time for working and studying at home, therefore they might face with a shortage in face-to-face discussions with colleagues which are necessary for completing the ability of communication and critical thinking. Another reason is, the writing skill of these people might have a bad influence as they relied too much on the convenience of technology devices. There are many online tools which automatically correct all grammatical mistakes made by users, consequently, some people would fail to correct themselves when writing physically.

On the other hand, there are numerous obvious benefits of the trend that staying at home for working and studying are becoming common among people and students because of the convenience and low price provided by the development of computer technology. First, computer users are able to access various information sources easily. As the Internet can store a limitless supply of information, therefore Internet-connected computers could help its users gather information even when staying home. Second, these people could save a great amount of money. For example, instead of spending 4 dollars to buy a bus ticket in order to get the local library, university students could find necessary information by searching for it online at home.

To conclude, there are many drawbacks of the trend that more and more people and student have a tendency of working and studying at home as they are utilizing the convenience and affordable price provided by the computer technology development. However, I firmly believe that this trend is positive in various aspects.