Topic: Some people say that it is possible for a county to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

There is a controversial topic of today’s world that whether a country could have both successful financial statement and clean environment at the same time or not. While I agree that many countries might not gain a balance between economic development and environmental protection, I am convinced that countries could have both economic success and uncontaminated environment.

Many people hold a belief that it is impossible for the government to protect the environment while developing the economy. The primary reason is that countries which have a developed financial statement, often make a significant contribution to global warming and air pollution. These countries usually release an excessive amount of trapping gas including carbon dioxide and methane as a result of the growth of some industries. In order to operate a large number of machines, workers need to burn oil or other materials and this process could discharge a significant amount of emission. In China, for example, while China is gradually becoming one of the richest countries in the world, Chinese are suffering from extreme weather and the air contamination caused by thousands gallons of industrial fumes released daily.

However, I believe that a successful economy and a clean environment could be achieved by a country at the same time. First, when having money, governments could take lots of actions to improve the environment. For instance, authorities could allocate the national budget for inventing environmentally-friendly subjects such as bio-degradable plastic bags or vehicles running on electricity. Second, it would be easier for governments to tackle environment-related issues when they have money. In Singapore for example, in order to against global warming, there is a system which costs billion dollars, was developed to transform carbon dioxide into oxygen.

To conclude, some people believe that it would be impossible for governments to achieve a balance between economic development and environmental protection. However, I am of the opinion that against the aforementioned belief because a good financial statement could assist authorities a lot in the process of keeping the environment clean, and as a result, both economic success and a clean habitat could be achieved by some countries.