Topic: Nowadays, celebrities increasingly have the status of role models, in particular for younger people. Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

These days, the development of social mass media has lead to a relationship between celebrities and their fans. Many teenagers have regarded those famous people as their idols. In my view, this phenomenon brings about a variety of good points but there are also some drawbacks.

On the one hand, lots of people have reputation for their extraordinary talents which can not only inspire adolescents but also help them to realize and promote their aptitude. For example, many famous soccer players like Ronaldo and Messi with their remarkable performances, have encouraged a lot of teenagers to take part in this sport. Thanks to this, some of the youngsters can discover their potential and spend time on developing their skills in the future. Secondly, celebrities can also be good examples of virtues. According to a study, a great number of superstars have taken part in doing voluntary activities every year, Angelina Josie – a famous actress of Hollywood, has donated over 20 million USD for the poor living in Africa recently, she also built many houses and upgraded several hospitals for individuals who were homeless. Evidently, these instances proved that teenagers can learn many good points from their idols.

On the other hand, there are still some bad points. Firstly, lots of people are well-known for their scandals or public misconduct. Take an example in a man in Viet Nam who is renowned as the name “Kha Banh”, he has been made several videos about violent actions and committed crimes as well. Moreover, his bad speech with wrongdoings have stimulated a great number of students to follow, which detrimentally affect youngsters’ behaviour and increase the criminal rate in Viet Nam significantly. Secondly, there are many fans spending a large amount of time and money on changing their appearance so as to be looked like their idols, they try to imitate every action and style of super-stars. Additionally, many teenagers, nowadays, kick wars with each other to protect their idols from bad rumours. Obviously, these phenomenons indicate that highly regarding a super-star as model may negatively impact on younger people’s development.

In conclusion, although many celebrities have done very well as a role model for the youth, the potential drawbacks of this trend should be considered.