Nowadays, celebrities increasingly have the status of role models, in particular for younger people. Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

In the past few decades, celebrities' influence on youth has been a controversial issue in many countries. While some people argue that this trend is advantageous, there are some concerns among the public about the negative impacts that celebrities may have on youngsters. I am inclined to think that the drawbacks of this development seem to outweigh its benefits.

It is indisputable that celebrities being young people’s role models could bring about numerous advantages. Most significantly, young adults inspired by celebrities' achievements could be more motivated to strive for success just like their role models. Indeed, as famous people are usually the successful ones, by learning from them, teenagers can be more career-oriented and thus more hard-working. In addition, copying celebrities could help timid young people gain self-confidence. For example, by wearing costumes and behaving like successful persons, youngsters are less apprehensive about themselves, which is essential during formative years.

However, from my perspective, this trend exerts more cons than pros. It is obvious that despite their great fame, a considerable number of celebrities are rather scandalous than talented. This may have misleading effects on juveniles who see their role models through rose-tinted glasses since they could take scandals as an integral part of being famous. Furthermore, some celebrities have an unhealthy lifestyle due to their job; hence, it might be hazardous for adolescents idolising them to follow a similar style. For instance, when imitating models who regularly lose weight, numerous teenage girls may suffer from various health problems like anorexia.

To sum up, I believe that celebrities being role models of youth is more of a disadvantageous trend. Although idolising famous people is not wrong, young adults should only learn from their positive contributions but not be overly obsessed with them to the extent of even losing their own identity.