Topic: Online communication is becoming more popular than face-to-face communication.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent decades have witnessed tremendous achievements in many sectors of information technology, especially the proliferation of online communication programs. While this trend may possess certain drawbacks in respect of cyber attack; nevertheless, I believe that Internet-based communication may provide more strengths than weaknesses.

On the one hand, an upsurge in the use of online applications for communication purposes could make enterprises vulnerable to cyber crime. The number of hackers using Trojans and involving in identity thefts have recently become more skilled and difficult to detect, even towards specialized software and experts. Confidential information of companies and the public is usually the favorite target of such criminals. Amid the outbreak of Covid-19 pandemic, for example, employees of most companies work from home, and consequently, they tend to receive spam emails or be stolen personal data from online accounts if they are unaware and careless.

On the other hand, I opine that online communication brings certain benefits to users. To begin with, operational expenses can be dramatically reduced in many activities within corporations. For instance, it is unnecessary for leaders to send subordinates to attend overseas conferences where incurring per diem might be exorbitant. Thanks to virtual meeting services such as Skype and Google Meet, the money for collective tasks can be diminished to a great extent, which helps preserve funds for other projects. Moreover, employees can enjoy distance working without the need of actually going to the workplace. Not only can this practice be time-saving, it also improves work productivity. Usually on normal days, it takes a certain amount of time for them to travel to work; but now, they are no longer worried about transportation and have more ample time for either concentrating on their own assignments or completing daily schedule activities before the working time starts. Work efficiency, as a result, could be enhanced by both employees’ feelings of comfort and their generous time budget.

In conclusion, online communication has become an inevitable phenomenon in the corporate world. Though it may increase the risks of online criminal acts, I believe that its advent will benefit modern people in the long run in terms of cost alleviation and work effectiveness.