Topic: In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and society that they live in?

It is an undeniable fact that parental influence plays a vital role in children’s life. Some parents take advantage of this thinking and rather their youngsters to spend their time for educational purpose and cut down the time for relaxation. Although this may offer some benefits, I believe the drawbacks are relatively high for the foreseeable future.

On the one hand, having children to pay their full attention on studying is definitely beneficial in certain cases. First and foremost, only with the help of knowledge can they develop the quality of being sucessful people and gainning a prominent future. For instance, it is likely that youngsters’ having made a concerted efford in studying would have had a lucrative income in their line of work later on. Secondly, spending less free time equals reducing the risk of children being exposed to the Internet, hopefully leading to an absence of problems such as cyberbullying, truancy and even delinquency.

On the other hand, I would argue that these benefits are outweighted by the negative effects. Putting children under extreme pressure by forcing them to take intensive courses or continuous assessments may put them on the high threshold of boredom. People speculate this might be due to the fact that there appears to be a large scale of pupils having difficulties with their metal health. Furthermore, it is because of the lack of free time that some pupils’s cognitive development is being declined, which generally may result in the paucity of transferable skills and lateral thinking.

In conclusion, for the reasons indicated above, it is obvious to acknowledge the positive implicantions of this problem and the negative benefits of parents putting stressness on children through education should also be regarded as at least as severe.