In some countries, parents expect children to spend a long time studying in and after school and have less free time.

Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and the society that they live in?

It is said that children are expected to spend less time enjoying leisure activities to study more after school. From my viewpoint, this is a negative development when it affects seriously students’ productivity and creativity.

Tiredness is a real threat to youngsters as it reduces their energy to maintain their performance. Take a normal high school student in Vietnam as an example, he usually spends 6-8 hours a day learning compulsory subjects at school and a few hours after that attending extra classes. As a result, he loses all the energy when he gets home, being unable to finish homework or prepare for the next day. In other words, he does not make any progress as he does not do any revision and soon he will be left behind. While other students, who spend less time cramming for all subjects, prefer to review old lessons and have a thorough knowledge, becoming better by day.

Nevertheless, studying too much also causes harm to children's creativity. Most of the time is used for brainstorming so the brain has less time to refresh and is always at work. And if the brain is unable to recover its energy, it will be unlikely to function properly, especially to think creatively. However, innovation is the prime key to the development of countries as it has altered the world from the stone age to the developed world now. Hence, the reduction of creativity not only impacts young generations but also the future world.

In conclusion, Studying extra hours may bring more negative consequences than its merits. Therefore, schools and educational ministry should stride a balance between learning and relaxing time to guarantee the best development of our world.