Topic: Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, there are more and more viewpoints claiming that the government should invest a huge amount of money in constructing novel buildings as a substitution for preserving old buildings. From my point of view, I wholeheartedly disagree with this notion due to portable reasons which will be shed light on in the following paragraphs.

One major ground behind the reason why people should take care of old buildings is that these buildings are presented for a thriving civilization. In fact, each historical period will have unique and charming features that not only reflect a traditional culture but also are firm evidence for the next generation to inherit and develop. Unless there is magnificent architecture, humans would hardly get a well-rounded perception of tremendous knowledge as well as inherit precious spirit heritage, which modern buildings cannot fully provide. Vietnam, for example, thanks to the Dong Son drum, Vietnamese people today acquire historical knowledge as well as inherit these ethnic values for future generations.

Furthermore, each old building will have its own breathtaking beauty that would be a promised tourist destination. In fact, these days, the government not only concentrates on prospecting potential industries but also stimulating the tourism industry through advertising ancient buildings, particularly in France and China. Therefore, more and more foreign travelers choose these countries to visit and capture scenic landscapes, playing a key element in boosting the economy.

In conclusion, although modern high-rise buildings will display stunning beauty, ancient buildings are still playing an important role for humans by providing documents and evidence for the next generation to obtain and are pretty beneficial for thriving the economy. Therefore, the authorities should take responsibility in both protecting the old buildings and constructing state-of-the-art buildings in a balance way.