Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The author claims two things here first is that too much money has been spent to maintain old buildings and second that new and modern buildings have to be built in place of old buildings. I completely disagree with the author in these claims.

Let us look at the first claim. First of all, in my opinion I feel that the quality of buildings that were built say a 100 years before is much better than those that are built now. The buildings in this age require constant looking after as some or the other issues start popping up in about three to five years after its built. These issues are caused due to improper structure, lack of quality materials, environmental issues and furthermore. So claiming that to maintain old buildings will cost more may not be accurate. In fact, I feel both the old and new buildings are taking up equal amount of money to get maintained.

Old buildings are a place of history for a lot of people. In my opinion a country's history is studied based on how much old buildings it has and also how old are the old buildings. Here the author claims that new and modern buildings have to be built in place of the old buildings. Although I agree that modern buildings might be necessary to keep up with the advancements in technology, I feel that demolishing old buildings and building new and modern buidlings on top of that may not be the solution.

Thus, I conclude by saying that both the old buildings and the new and modern buildings are necessary for a country and compromising on one for the other will only lead to further problems instead of solving them.