• Task 2: Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that there is too much money pouring in looking after and repairing old buildings, so it is advisable to delete old buildings and build modern ones. In my opinion, I totally concur with that solution because it can positively affect human beings.

It is obvious that replacing old buildings with modern ones can improve the safety and appearance of buildings. To begin with, new modern buildings are more likely to ensure the safety of people. Compared with old buildings, modern buildings are constructed with more flexible, persistent materials, more effective technology so they are inclined to face some dangerous conditions such as storms, fire and so on. In addition, new buildings have better looks while old buildings usually have unattractive appearances. In the past, because of poverty, lack of modern technology, there were a lot of buildings with boooring looks but nowadays buildings are decorated fussily with a wide variety of style, ornaments. Hence, this phenomenon can contribute to the image of local areas.

Having modern buildings also helps the government to meet the needs of residents. First, it is beneficial and essential that there are larger capacities in modern buildings. Because of urbanization and population rise, the needs for accommodation goes up significantly and the areas become less. Therefore, skyscrapers with hundreds of apartments can solve this problem. Second, the living standard of people who live in modern building can be improved. Thanks to modern equipments, for example air conditioning, elevators, cameras and so on, people’s lives are more convenient and time-consuming.

In conclusion, it is suitable that people need to demolish old buildings and build modern ones.