Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Today many individuals are unable to develop their literacy skills. This may hinder their job opportunities or even become an obstacle to do daily activities. Therefore, authorities should take steps to mitigate these potential issues.

Illiteracy may result in several drawbacks pertaining mainly to the career prospects. It is true that these skills are principal knowledge and compulsory at schools. Those who are unable to perform these skills are likely to lose their chance to secure a good job in this competitive labour market and end up doing menial work. In this modern world, almost every mental work requires reading and writing skills. For example, the job of an accountant is related to data analysis and processing skills. If an individual is unable to read or write, she cannot have a chance to take this job because these skills are its principal requirements. Their lack of literacy skills preclude them from doing daily activities such as reading newspapers and even signing for their welfare benefits application.

However, the above mentioned disadvantages are intractable and governments should take actions to mitigate these obstacles. Firstly, the authorities should allocate their resources suitably to provide everyone with radical literacy courses in schools. For example, they should build more schools and facilities in remote areas to reduce the distance from students’ home to school. Secondly, the governments should spend their budget to encourage citizens especially the poor to learn literacy skills. This way can help everyone to have access to the ability of reading and writing.

In conclusion, various measures need to be taken to tackle the drawbacks that illiteracy brings back to individuals’ lives. The question is left for the government to find the best way to alleviate these problems.