Topic: as well as making money, business also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree

It is no doubt true that profit-oriented organizations should also have social obligations besides generating revenues. Although cash flow plays a crucial role in business operations, social issues are also equally important.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why enterprises attempt to maximize profits. Firstly, if companies raise more money, prosperous and developed firms also create more jobs for the locality, which leads to the reduction of the jobless rate. For example, as an international corporation such as Coca Cola tends to scale up over the world, which reduces problems relevant to unemployment and poverty. Secondly, when the annual growth of businesses, they can meet the demand of paying taxes for the government. This makes the government can allocate these revenues for building infrastructure as well as providing instant subsidization to needy people.

On the other hand, there are some crucial factors why businesses should accept that they have responsibilities for society. In terms of environmental effects, many industrial activities are believed to cause adverse impacts on the environment, typically is the disposal of industrial wastes, giving rise to sea level recently. For instance, instead of releasing chemical wastes to rivers, they could establish the drainage system result in mitigating water pollution. Another reason is that corporations, even though they are either big or small, should conduct charitable activities and sponsor scholarship in order to enhance the well-being of citizens. In this case, they not only improve the living standard of the impoverished but also enhance their public images; it is such a win-win partnership.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I hold my initial view that companies should maintain their business activities and social responsibilities at the same time.