Traditionally women play the role of upbringing their children while men work outside to earn money for the family. Some people argue that women make better parents than men and that’s why they should play the greater role in upbringing children. Others, however, say that men can be as good as women in parenting.

Discuss both views. What is your point of view on this issue?

Give reasons for your answers and provide relevant examples and experience you might have.

Opinions diverge on whether a man is the primary breadwinner for working outside to earn money while woman should stay at home for child-rearing. Although this sentiment can be justified to some extent, I am at loggerheads owing to rational reasons.

Admittedly, women are of paramount importance to bring children up in light of their maternal instinct. First, the baby’s natural demand is breast-feeding. According to scientific research, kids who grow up with the mother’s milk will develop their physical health as well as immune system better than the opposite ones in light of abundant nutrition contained in breast-milk. Second, mothers have necessary personalities which are suitable for taking care of children. To be more accurate, due to the long time spent with mother in several first years, a child’s characteristics are impacted significantly by their mom; therefore, mother’s tenderness and patience play significant roles in forming up a child’s characteristics like self-esteem or compassion. As a result, a mother is an indispensable part of a nuclear family.

However, I strongly support the stance that the father’s role is as imperative as the mother's because of contributions in children’s physical and mental development. This can be explained by the fact that men are stronger and have better mobility to be constituted appropriately for training children in certain activities like riding bicycles or swimming, which are important to develop physical health as well as requisite skills. Moreover, the role of the father is tremendously valued in children's behavior orientation. Obviously, the mothers, sometimes, are indulgent and over protective towards their children, which leads to dependence in characteristics, namely “mama’s boy”. Hence, the father, with the inherent rigidity of men, seems to restrain the mother's excessive indulgence in raising children.

By way of conclusion, notwithstanding traditional perspectives bias towards the role of mothers, I ascertain that both genders are equal in children's upbringing.