Traffic and accommodation problems are increasing and Government should encourage some businesses to move from cities to rural areas. Does advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

An increasing number of traffic transportations and buildings is overwhelming, so some businesses are encouraged to relocate from urban areas to less crowded cities. While I believe this will bring certain advantages, I am convinced that it is likely to have many disadvantages on society.

On the one hand, if this policy is implemented, various merits will be generated to society. Firstly, it is understandable that the relocation of some businesses will reduce the unemployment rate in some rural regions, which contributes a lot to economic development and urbanization. This is because it will create more job opportunities for the local citizens; therefore they do not have to move to big cities in order to seek jobs, which can decrease the overpopulated problems of urban cities. Furthermore, the life quality of local people will be higher due to the appearance of many modern technologies and infrastructure. The second merit which should be highlighted is that traffic congestion will be less severe in urban cities. This can be explained that if they have to work in another city, they will be likely to use public transport because of the financial issue.

Apart from the merits, the relocation of companies from urban cities to rural areas may exert some demerits. The first one is that the increase of factories will worsen the environmental pollution of the countryside due to their industrial wastes released into the environment, including emission, sewage. The second demerit which should not be ignored is that this movement results in the mixed culture, which will gradually lose the cultural identity of that area. This is because many people from different cities come and work together in one workplace.

In conclusion, after analyzing the pros and cons of business relocation, I think the merits is likely to outweigh the demerits. However, the Government should consider seriously to find out the best solution to deal with this hot problem.