As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should cover the costs. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

While some people think the government should pay for money invested in developing road systems to deal with an increase in cars, others think car users should pay for this expense. Both sides of the argument will be analyzed, and then I will elaborate on my own opinion.

It is understandable that some believe that money investment should be paid by the Government due to some reasons. Firstly, the main role of the government is improving citizens’ standard of living. Therefore, they must be deserved a more efficient public service which is at least the basic needs including road infrastructure. Secondly, car buyers are charged a considerable amount of tax to own and drive a car on roads, and therefore it is unfair to lay the responsibility for road upgrade works on them. For example, people in Vietnam have to pay almost twice as much to own a car since the taxes and fees account for nearly 50% of car prices. Therefore, it is better to use these taxes for road infrastructure investment rather than forcing citizens to pay for it.

On the other hand, some believe that this money investment should be on car users due to one main underlying reason. Compared to bike and motorbike, cars take up more road space due to its larger size and weight. It is estimated that the number of cars in Thailand made up nearly 80% of total vehicles on roads. As a result, the need for road expansion and enhancement is mainly to facilitate a more comfortable journey for car users so car commuters should take responsibility for paying for that costs.

In conclusion, although the argument in favor of road infrastructure costs belonging to car users might be convincing to some extent, I think that the Government should be the one to take full responsibility for this.