Unfortunate events

Since the dawn of humankind, unfortunate incidents have been an inevitable part of our lives that occur on a fairly regular basis. While some argue that it is best to “let it be” and “accept the destiny”, others hold strong belief that the ultimate way is to try and better the situation. Personally, I think that each side has its own points, and whether to “make it” or leave it depends greatly on the specifically involved event.

On the one hand, it is commonly known that to be a decent human being, one should practice, of at least appreciate, the norm of self-development, thus thrive for a better and brighter future. From a macro perspective, such doing is by all means appreciated, as the desire to be better and to not compromise or be satisfied easily, is fair to say what has kept the world as developed and advanced as it is today. Narrowing the scope, refusing to be surrender when hurdles arise seems to be a great indicator of individual strong determination and respectable self-esteem.

On the flip side, it may be wise to take into consideration the fact that not everything can be changed, and not everything is subject to one’s contemplation. Stubborn, hopeless and improper efforts are not only fruitless in extreme cases, but also are potential sources of dissapointment and chronical resentment. Instead of wasting energy and mental resources trying to fix ruins, it can be smarter for one to remain placid, accept the reality in return for inner peace, which, according to a wide range of religions, is the key to a happy, fulfilled life.

To sum up, I think the decision to whether leave things as they are, however bad and adverse, or stand up and make an effort to find a solution, is not a one size fit for every possible problem. In other words, to give up is sometimes absolutely the best resort, but it is worth remembering that, before one gives up, every possible attempt should be made first.