Universities should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is evident that university education is vital for one’s merit, skill and knowledge. Thus, it should deserve both sexes; male and female. By referring to our history, both male and female have given almost equal contribution to the nation’s development. As such, no gender preferences should be accepted when selecting subjects in the university. The following essay would be discussed whether the equal numbers of male and female students to be chosen in every subject is agreeable or not.

At some occasions, it is thought that certain subjects are specific for male or female. For example, most of the main streams such as, engineering, medicine, etc. are mostly suitable for males while some other streams such as accounting, fashion designing, textile and clothing are mostly suitable for females. But there are many female students who are much more knowledgeable in engineering or medicine than of male students who study in the same stream. Likewise, many male students are advanced in fashion designing, clothing and textile than most of the female students of the same stream. As such, it is hard to accept of prioritizing certain subjects in gender wise.

On the other hand, most of the universities accept students on a point based system. This system might be an impact of accepting equal numbers of males and females to the university. As such, either majority of male or female students might be accepted in certain subjects. Those who have got the highest marks will be accepted to certain subjects. However, this could be a reason for certain students (both male and female) to select some other subjects even though they are not certainly agreed to choose.

In conclusion, though certain subjects are allowed to study for those who have already got the highest marks, equal numbers of male and female also should be prioritized to study the relevant subjects. As a result, equal number of both male and female engineers, doctors, accountants, fashion designers etc. will be ready to serve the country. Both will equally contribute the nation’s development. We should never forget that among the greatest male personalities that we all may know such as Sir. Isaac Newton, Leonardo Da Vinci etc. there are also some of the greatest female personalities such as Marie Currie, Mother Teresa etc.