Universities should be concerned with educating people so that they have wide general knowledge and be able to consuder important matters from an informed view point and not simply prepare students for jobs required by society.Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a growing debate about whether universities should focus on education which is support pupils to have a quality of general knowledge instead of focus on gaining a job in the future. It is put forward by some people that academies should be concerned with scholars' knowledge so that they can establish the solutions when the matters appeared. The opponents, on the other hand, argue that students should be acquired specific knowledge which can be utilised at their job position in the future. this essay will illustrate both viewpoints surrounding this issue before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, there are some people who hold the view that colleges should be concerned with learner’s wide general knowledge that they are able to consider crucial problems from an informed prospection. These people present several arguments, but the most conspicuous one is perhaps that people can quickly solve the problems when they have a wide range of information. In other words, they can expect the next situation from their knowledge. To illustrate, a chef who works in the kitchen should be educated about first aid, so that they can be flexible in responding to a dangerous incident. Another point often made by the proponents of this position is that people who have a wide knowledge could improve quality of life. This is because they are competitive and smarter than others who have a lack of knowledge. For example, people define that wealthy is well-knowledge people such as lawyers, politicians and doctors while poor people usually have a lack of knowledge.

On the other hand, there are opponents of this view as well. these people believe that students should be focused on their major subject which can support their job opportunity. One of the most convincing arguments they present is that some professional positions are required a specific deep knowledge which can save one’s life. This is evidenced by the fact that people cannot assure accidents. For instance, surgeons, nurses or fire-fighters should be expected a number of situations to protect patients and themselves from the emergency cases. As well as this, they believe that some other professionals who represent their nations such as Olympic players, world cup players do not require to gain unrelated part of pieces of knowledge.

To sum up, it can be observed that there are two contradicting viewpoints in relation to whether universities should be concerned with a wide range of education or not. To choose which side I am on, I believe that academics should support scholars to adapt with society as primary to high schools support basic knowledge.