Water shortages are causing serious problems all over the world. What do you think are the main causes of this situation?

In present time, water scarcity has become a globally pressing issue due to overpopulation and industrialization. This issue will aggravate unless appropriate measures are taken by national authorities and individuals.

To commence with, several compelling factors have led to the depletion of fresh water. One of the most radical reasons is the overpopulation in metropolitan cities along with global phenomenon of urbanization which results in the worldwide surge in water requirement directly attributed to water crisis in some populated countries. Furthermore, water contamination is another major problem. To cite an example, a recent article published in the Hindu newspaper highlighted that 60% of Industries in India do not have a proper waste management system and all of the industrial waste is dumped in the nearby rivers and lakes, which trigger the water crisis that the circulation of fresh water cannot be guaranteed. Additionally, fresh water from rivers and lakes has been increasingly used for manufacturing processes such as chemical reactions, cleaning toxic equipment and sent back to water resources accompanied with industrial waste.

To rectify the situation, national authorities can control this issue by implementing public education schemes regarding controlled water usage. Strict national legislations for preventing natural fresh water reserve pollution and compulsory sanitation before emptying industrial waste are also required. Moreover, government should also set up infrastructure for purification of seawater into salt free water, which will help in meeting the growing requirement of fresh water.

Similarly, individuals can also contribute towards this process by conserving water and also by limiting their daily household water usage. They should refrain themselves from performing activities that pollute natural fresh water reserves.

To conclude, even though, the scarcity of fresh water is a growing global problem, there are various methods available, by which both the government and individuals can prevent this from worsening.