University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students of universities tend to focus on their major course, but a certain number of people are of an opinion that students need to be encouraged to study additional subjects as well as their main subject. I disagree with this belief because it is challenging to focus on different subjects and it takes a lot of time, which can be spent on extracurricular activities. In the following essay, I will explain my point of view, using my personal experience and examples from real life.

Studying several subjects may be difficult, so adding some subjects to the program can cause stress and tiredness. For example, my Advanced Biology course requires skimming hundreds of pages of material. Moreover, lots of subjects consist of not only theoretical material but also some practical or laboratory work. That is why adding some minor subjects is very stressful and exhausting.

Besides, it takes additional time, while students need to relax and have fun with their friends. It is well-known that students desire to spend their life in university not only with books and lectures but also with their friends and hobbies. Students can spend their time doing sport or initiating some art projects, as well as making some volunteer work since it can develop their personality and other important skills.

Taking everything into consideration, I believe that focusing on one special subject is vital for a student since it will make him or her happier and give the opportunity to spend time wisely.