The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking and is banned in certain places like smoking. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

People believe that mobile phone usage is as harmful in society as smoking and we should prohibit it in typical places like smoking. I completely disagree with this point of view due to its potential benefits.

Admittedly, the growing popularity of smartphones currently has both negative and positive effects on society. Not like smoking, however, the smartphone is a technological tool, which is necessary for people's daily life. Frequent smoking has negative health impacts on both individuals and people's surroundings, whereas the use of smartphones just affects those who use them. To illustrate, women who are regularly exposed to second-hand smoke while getting pregnant, are at a high risk of having a child with birth defects and suffering from other complications during pregnancy. Meanwhile, playing on a smartphone frequently just causes vision impairment in people using it. Therefore, smoking is at the expense of their own and others' health, this can go far beyond the use of mobile phones.

With the advantages smartphones bring to people's daily activities, I think that mobile phones should not be banned because of certain reasons. Firstly, In school, mobile phones can be considered teaching tools that support teachers' lectures to become more attractive to their students during class hours. From a working perspective, a smartphone is an indispensable tool for connecting and communicating in a meeting with remote-area business partners. Additionally, using smartphones is less serious than smoking, which leads to severe health issues.

In conclusion, I believe that smartphones play a vital role in individuals' lives so they should not be prohibited.