The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the development of technology, mobile phones are becoming more and more popular than ever. This technology brings to humanity both pros and cons, but some people only look at its disadvantages regardless of the benefits and believe that mobile phones should be banned in certain places like smoking. I personally disagree with this opinion.

First of all, the things that are banned tend to be the ones that can seriously affect one's health or the people around them, such as smoking, drugs or weapons. Mobile phones, otherwise, cause little negative effect on the users. In other words, if people know how to use phones properly, they can take all the advantage from this technology. In addition, the concern about problems that smartphones bring is insignificant and controllable. To be specific, the effects such as eye diseases or the addiction are rare and do not always happen. However, some people who read about those kinds of news on social media, by which they also use mobile phones, think that if mobile phones are not banned, people will fall into the same situation. With that being said, they are just scared of the risk and demise which are not likely to happen.

On the other hand, people these days cannot live without mobile phones. In other words, some people also live on this technology. Majority of the jobs, especially in the big city, involve mastered skill of using phones and computers. Therefore, banning mobile phones means depriving the jobs which people live on. This, thus, not only causes unemployment but also widespread poverty. Furthermore, people also have a demand on recreation, socialization and other daily affairs which need mobile phones. As a consequence, if people can’t use phones anymore, their life will be shuffled and fall into a deep crisis.

In conclusion, mobile phones should not be considered as a potential peril, but a device to help humans. As long as we know how to take advantage of this technology, what we receive are only benefits.