The use of social media (e.g. Facebook and Twitter) is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media has become an integral part of our daily lives. It is widely believed that these platforms are replacing the importance of face-to-face communication. This essay will attempt to discuss in more depth both beneficial and detrimental impacts of that issue.

To begin with, there is no doubt that social media has brought various advantages in our lives. First of all, they facilitate communication in modern times as now people can globally connect to relatives and friends who are far away or share common interests regardless of geographical location. For example, Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms which is currently providing services for more than 2,4 billion people worldwide. They are easily accessible to the newest information about everything and they can choose to connect and interact with anyone they want. Secondly, these social networking sites currently offer a new approach of learning which are called live streaming services. Users may enhance the quality of education through online courses in these sites and the cost of those lessons are cheaper than the traditional one.

On the other hand, social media is not completely beneficial, there are many negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. To be more detailed, as these sites are becoming more popular and attract a large number of users from around the world, they can fall prey to online communication abuse such as online bullying and harassment. Social media can be regarded as a toxic environment where users can comfortably comment on everything they want without considering its impact. Besides, overuse of social media to communicate can lead to the downplaying of the importance of face-to-face interactions which are an important thing in real life. Nowadays, many young and reclusive people tend to live in a virtual world on social sites rather than in a real-life relationship. This may be detrimental to some aspects, such as increased stress, anxiety, and loneliness.

In conclusion, social media has brought both benefits and drawbacks on our daily lives. From my point of view, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits and overuse of these sites can lead to many serious problems.