The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social media plays an integral part in our daily life as it provides online conversations. Although social media may cause potential threats to users, I strongly believe that its benefits can overshadow drawbacks.

First and foremost, it is inevitable that anyone can have access to social media by ubiquitous devices such as a computer or a smartphone. This means that it is unnecessary for people to contact with each other directly, requiring complex arrangements. Furthermore, it is a practical solution if a person is not able to meet another face-to-face due to far geographical distances. Social-networking sites, for example, may allow businessmen to host online conferences in order to stimulate investments for their projects with approximate efficiency compared to offline meetings. Last but not least, social media can be utilized on special occasions. For instance, the COVID-19 pandemic has exerted a detrimental impact worldwide, forcing governments to propose restrictions in working offline, leading to the fact that social media is the only way for enterprises to work.

On the other hand, research has demonstrated that putting an excessive amount of time on social media may result in both physical and mental health problems. As users spend hours being active on social media, their visions would be limited due to screen light. However, this can be prevented by humans ourselves. By organising our timetable properly and strictly following the given rules, a person can avoid the attractions of social media.

All things considered, I think that social media is an effective innovation in multiple aspects with only minor disadvantages. This can be well explained by its popularity and flexibility regarding distances and special events.