The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction between many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a gradual shift towards interaction via social networking sites, which has had a substitute for in-person communication. This essay agrees that the benefits of this phenomenon are overshadowed by its drawbacks.

Admittedly, there is no doubt that social media platforms can offer certain undeniable merits. One of the most obvious advantages is that this means of communication can facilitate supportive relationships. Indeed, social media gives users a chance of connecting without geographical barriers, so much so that they can interact with their relatives straightforwardly and conveniently. As a result, these online users can well maintain frequent contact with significant friends and family members even when they are in different locations via video calls in real-time provided, with a simple click of a button.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, I firmly believe that online communication does more harm than good. Firstly, digital platforms which do not engage in face-to-face meetings might isolate people from communities and discourage personal interactions. When people spend too much time on social media, they can be addicted to it and then lose interest in desiring to have an actual conversation. No doubt, this phenomenon can not only decline interpersonal communication skills but also exert a detrimental effect on their mental health such as depression and loneliness since they become increasingly reliant on social media and consider them a primary mode of communication. Second, communicating via social platforms could deteriorate positive relationships. Social media can be a significant hindrance to social-emotional connections since it does not allow users to fully express personal emotions and feelings with simple text messages. Consequently, digital platform usage might lead to satisfaction in relationships, which increases the likelihood of misunderstandings or conflicts among users.

In conclusion, due to the above-mentioned reasons, I am of the opinion that the upsides of online interaction are outshined by its downsides.