The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many people prefer online communication to in-person interaction. This trend has its own benefits, but I believe that the demerits outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, the merits of social media are often discussed in terms of time and cost savings. There are many social media platforms that allow people to create free accounts and add other people to their loops for communication purposes without spending time on face-to-face meetings. For example, Vietnamese people now use applications such as Zalo, and Messenger to chat and call daily because they are free and convenient. Another case is that online conferences held via Zoom, and Google Meet among organizations have become commonplaces, helping companies minimize the finance of rental fees and operation costs.

However, there are many disadvantages that people should not underestimate. Firstly, social communication among people, particularly youngsters would be deskilled when they over-rely on online interaction. They would be unable to express their feelings and their thoughts thoroughly because they are not accustomed to verbal language, and direct body language in physical communication, resulting in ineffective conversations. Another hazardous impact is that people could gradually isolate themselves from real-world society as they are addicted to virtual social networks. This can make users susceptible to being gullible, and easily manipulated by unhealthy content. When interacting online, people could make friends with criminals, and become victims of technology crimes such as online sexual harassment or information theft.

In conclusion, although online interaction offers a lot of unprecedented conveniences, I believe that the disadvantages are stronger than the benefits if people are over-reliant on this type of communication.