The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, instead of using face-to-face communication, many people choose online conversation using social media platforms. It seems to me that the benefits of digital technologies bring to society more overshadowed than their drawbacks.

In term of the advantages, social media turn people's lives into a convenient life. For student abroad, it bring distant people together, connect people between two different countries. In addition, that mean of communication not only become a tool that help people exchange and share useful infomation and ideas, it but also is the place where users share their emotion to alleviate stress and remove their shyness, barriers of communication. Especially, young peiple can take in the large amount of knowledge about the world or the lessson in class by only a click on the internet. For example, when I get a trouble in my essay because of the lack of evidences, I can search more example or video on Tiktok or Google to get more knowledge and complete fastly my essay.

Despite the above benefits, I also believe that when it comes to communication, social media does more harm than good. The overuse of social media negatively affect mental health, physical health and personally. For example, when young people spend too much time browsing the internet, they will be addicted and their behavior or personality will be impacted by offensive videos and comments. Especially, social media's users can make a bad habit of putiing off their task and ignoring their family, friends and everything around them.

In conclusion, for the reasons metioned above, I am of the opinion that the positive affects that social media has on our communication are overweighed by the adverse impacts.